How to build now that store is closed?

I’ve just learned about Kegbot, but they have stopped producing the the equipment. I’ve researched a little about building my own through an Arduino or Rasberry Pi. What recommendations do you have for someone with good general computer skills, but very limited programming skills?

You don’t really need any programming skills. If you can follow the directions in the documents, you’ll be fine.

I think my plan is to go with the kegberry. It seems the easiest. However, the flowmeters are not sold anymore. Is there a way to buy a different flowmeter and hook it directly to the rasberry pi? Or would I have to build a kegboard by using an arduino?

I know you can source that (or a different) flowmeter from another site. I personally use the swissflow sf800 meter. http://www.swissflow.com/sf800.html
Pretty pricey especially after you factor in shipping. However, I’ve been using these same meters for several years and in several different kegerators. The quality is top notch. The SF800 used to be the normal kegobt flowmeter, but changed to the GEMS FT-330 due to cost.

However, I don’t know what you’d need to do to attach it to the raspi. I know kegberry doesn’t support flow sensing via GPIO. The project is set up to go from flow sensor > KegBoard Pro Mini > Raspberry Pi. Since the KBPM isn’t made anymore, I assume you have to go the arduino route. I’m also not sure where you’d get the kegbot arduino shield or coaster from.

I like how these guys approched it:

Can you tell how they attached their flowmmeter straight to the raspi? As in this picture:

I got lost when they get to the coding part. But I’m not really interested in the Twitter feature.

They attached the flow sensor to the gpio pins. They made some code changes that allowed the raspi to read the flow sensor.

Hi,